The Macquarie University Master of Chiropractic Class of 2017 graduation was celebrated on the 20thof April 2018. The day concluded with a Masquerade themed Graduation Ball in Darling Harbour. Attendees, including families, partners, friends, loved ones, MQU staff and members of the Chiropractic professional bodies, embraced the theme in emphatic style.

The charismatic Dr. Chris Agius served as the master of ceremonies and his comedic approach to proceedings kept the crowd laughing throughout the night. Dr. Mario Pribicevic introduced the graduates and Dr. Chi Fung (with a very rare appearance) presented each with a copy of the Chiropractic Oath.  Registered Chiropractors were invited to join the class of 2017 in taking the Chiropractic Oath. This serves as a reminder of our loyalty to the profession and our responsibility to the people we serve.

Dr. Rosemary Giuriato, the Head of the Chiropractic Department at Macquarie University, addressed the audience with an inspirational speech and encouraging words. Her dedication and commitment over the past five years will always be remembered. This was followed by the keynote address by Dr. Allan Kalamir, who shared his insight to the development of the profession and valuable lessons in collaborating with others and the importance of embracing change in contemporary chiropractic.  Michael Hobbs delivered the graduates response, providing the student’s perspective on a very challenging journey filled with hardship, laughter, camaraderie, an enormous sense of achievement and a big thank you to all of those who contributed to our journey.

Achievements were celebrated by the presentation of the Academic awards.  CAA National President Andrew Lawrence presented the CAA National Award for Final Year Student of the Year to Michael Hobbs, who also received the Chiropractic Education Australia Award for Clinic Internship presented by Dr. Scott Philipson.  Dr. Philipson also presented The Ed Devereaux Award for contributions to the Student Body to Tristan Foo. The NSW CAA X-Ray Excellence Award was presented to Tristan Foo.  Hillary Mathieson received the CAAQLD Ellie Fernie Award from Christine Berman.  Dr. John De Voy from CAANSW presented CAA NSW Academic Excellence Award First Year Masters to Ingrid Dunkerley.  She also received the COCA Award for proficiency in Preclinical Studies from John Kaloger of Chiropractic Australia Executive.   Dr. Stephen Esposito presented The Gary Stavrou Award for Proficiency in Chiropractic Technique to Dirk Crafford.

Graduates took to the dance floor with some signature moves by the usual suspects and a few quiet colleagues showing off some hidden talents.

On behalf of the graduates, our gratitude goes to all of the academic- (lecturers, tutors and supervisors) and support staff that guided us through our journey to become chiropractors. Your hard work is appreciated and your efforts helped to shape us. We hope to do you proud in sharing our gift with patients in need.

A heart-felt thank you to Anthony O’Reilly, (President of tCa), Martina Adamcic, Aron Downie, Hillary Mathison, Mackenzie Kulen and the tCa team of Danielle Sclatrito, Mark Hamer, George Portelli and Jack Sahagian for organizing such a tremendous event.  To our colleagues that could not attend, you were missed and we hope to cross paths in the near future.

The night was both entertaining and inspiring.  We are proud to be a part of and serve a profession that have already changed the lives of countless patients for the best.

The true achievements are those of every single one of us that completed this journey regardless of the hardships, losses and adversities. Through hard work and persistence, you have reached this important milestone in your career. Congratulations to every graduate!

Dirk Crafford





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *